“Bless the world, it feels like a tip-tapping, song-singing, finger-snapping kind of day. Let’s celebrate!”

I found this excerpt from a book (that’s now in my Amazon shopping cart!) after G and I had fun playing in the rain today. That is exactly the type of mother I want to be.

Rainy day

20130418_174206

Rainy day

Rainy day

20130418_181037

Rainy day

20130418_182150

“My Mama had a dancing heart and she shared that heart with me. With a grin and a giggle, a hug and a whistle, we’d slap our knees, and mama would say: “Bless the world, it feels like a tip-tapping, song-singing, finger-snapping kind of day. Let’s celebrate!”  When a warm Spring rain would come pinging on the windowpane, we’d kick off our shoes and out into the rain we’d go. We’d dance a frog-hopping leaf -growing flower-opening hello Spring ballet. High-stepping and splashing, the rain running down our faces, I’d slip-swish behind mama in the newly green grass. And afterward, we’d read rain poems and drink sassafras tea with lemon curls floating.”

– My Mama Had A Dancing Heart, by Libba Moore Gray

Leave a Reply

