Living in a 100 year old home with a toddler OR Flat vs Semi-Gloss paint

I love old houses. Crooked doorways with crystal knobs, kitschy cutouts in walls, and slightly slanted floors that marbles roll across are my jam. Typically, since these  houses have “textured” {aka patched, cracked, or otherwise imperfect} plaster walls, owners paint the walls a nice, neutral color in a flat finish to hide irregularities. But seriously, does any other Bungalow owner have a VERY messy 2 year old?

Fingerprints. Are. Everywhere.

I wipe down the walls in our hall at least 3 times per week, and there are still always smudges { or streaks where I just wiped away smudges}. Gross. Right?

I remember my dad having to paint our hall at least once per year growing up, but there were 6 kids, 3 dogs, 5 bunnies, a turtle, and several fish in my childhood home. Also known as Entropy: Defined.

So…Imperfections vs. dirt?  Dark vs. light colors? Anyone?

And yes, I still Hate My HallwayBlog1

One thought on “Living in a 100 year old home with a toddler OR Flat vs Semi-Gloss paint

  1. Pingback: #NeverEndingTileProject | Me, You, and G Makes 3

Leave a Reply

