Almond Encrusted Cod with Sauteed Garden Greens

Almond Encrusted Cod with Sauteed Garden Greens

I love cod! Unfortunately, I live with a man who instinctively refuses to eat anything his mother didn’t cook for him growing up {read: steak and potatoes} until I force feed it to him. Then, he loves it. Go figure.

By his request, we’ve had this for dinner twice in 6 days, so I’m thinking it’s a winner! My mom said she preferred the crust a little bit thinner, which you could do by leaving the almonds in the food processor for less time.

Ingredients:
1 cup raw almonds
.5 cup coconut or olive oil
1 TBSP dried oregano
1 egg
Salt and Pepper to taste { I added more salt than I initially thought I’d need, which seems to be a habit of mine lately. It turned out perfect!}
1, 2 pound bag of frozen cod {I know, fresh is better. Do whatever makes you happy}

Pop your crust ingredients in the food processor for 1-2 minutes, until you have your desired thickness of crust. I liked ours more of a crunchy-almond-butter consistency, but it’s definitely going to make a thick crust on your fish. Spread the mixture on top of your fish, and bake for 35-40 minutes {if your fillets are frozen! If not, follow the instructions on your package} at 375*, uncovered. Then, flip your broiler on to 500*, and broil for 5 minutes, or until the crust is nice and crunchy.

I served this with sauteed beet greens and arugula, with LOTS of garlic and pepper. Amazzzzzeballs.

Jack's Farmacy Greens

I got those gorgeous greens from our fantastic little CSA called Jack’s Farmacy {clever, right?}. This week’s basket was choc-full of green goodness, the most incredible Asian pears, and these pretty little duck eggs.

DSC_1254

Leave a Reply

